thoughts from the tub

I was taking a bath yesterday and having some pumpkin beer when it hit me how alone I am.

Quick aside on the beer – I love pumpkin everything. Not pumpkin spice, pumpkin. Or pumpkin with pumpkin spice. There is a difference. Pumpkin spice neglects the vegetable. I was enjoying a pumking by Southern Tier brewery. It includes pumpkin as well as the spices and to date it is my favorite pumpkin beer. Boulevard smashed pumpkin is also quite good and has a strong pumpkin flavor. I also enjoy Schlafly’s pumpkin but it was the best about 4 years ago and since then has had an issue with the spice ratio in my opinion. Still good but not what it was.

Anyway, back to the tub.

There I was relaxing and thinking and my mind wandered to my loneliness. It isn’t just in the romantic sense. I spent the day alone, as I do most days. I have friends but I don’t frequently hang out with people. I don’t have much family left and they are far away. I haven’t been on a date in over a year. It has been a year and a half since I kissed anyone (he is engaged now). I can live without it, but it would be nice to have someone again.

Leave a Reply

